John Wolseley – Straight Painting

John Wolseley's art. For more visuals, please visit his website.
John Wolseley’s art. For more visuals, please visit his website

The nature and its glamour has developed ample movements in the human natural history.  From the buddhists to the impressionists, and many other efforts of the human being you can see the footsteps of the nature on it. Being stumbled upon John Wolseley, I can’t even imagine of a more direct way of painting the nature.  The act of painting for Mr. Wolseley is an act of involvement with both nature and art in a very direct way.  Printmaking for him is no longer a technique at a super-clean-print-studio, but an applicable technical approach.  For instance, while rummaging through a pond in Australia, he finds the carcass of a bird, paint it with an uncommon mixture of sand and paint, and press (ungently) it on the watercolour paper – or make a direct contour of the whole mass.  The stencil technique functions for other natural objects as well; leaves, bones, flowers, fruits, carcasses etc. “Straight painting” is a term which I felt proper as a title for this post.  I already know what Straight Photography is, therefore it might be a vanishing point to straight photography and painting the nature with its very routs; that can be Straight Painting.

John Wolseley
John Wolseley himself, with a bird’s carcass, at some place like a pond.  This picture is a still which I took from a  documentary about him.

My encounter with Mr. Wolseley’s work has brought up another name into my mind; herman de vries (lowercase letters).  I have been looking for a proper moment to write something about how I see Mr. de vries’s work/research/passion for the nature. I guess this time would come some time soon in the future when I myself find a similar experience to the nature.  Therefore I can believe in what I write in the future.  Moreover, it has been a couple of years that I have left living in the nature for every now and then.  That means a connections which I am seeking to catch up with hopefully sometime soon in the future.

Herman de Vries himself, date unknown to me.
herman de vries (the Dutchman) himself, date unknown to me.  herman de vries (lower case letters), avoids hierarchy by using uppercase in his name.  Therefore I would respect that idea.  Hope he doesn’t mind.
This grid has been made by mr. de vries.  As I can see it this would be a good reference to be mentioned in my upcoming text.  But as in relation to Mr. John Wolseley's work I would say that both artists see the nature's variable elements in one piece of work as a unit.
This variety of  “grid” has put together by mr. de vries. As I can see from now, this would be a good reference to be mentioned in my upcoming text. But as in relation to Mr. John Wolseley’s work I would say that both artists see the nature’s variable elements in one piece of work as a unit.
Wolseley and de vries
John Wolseley (left), herman de vries (right).

Leave a Reply

